The Supporters Association is delighted to announce that the ‘2007-2008 Stevenage Borough Supporters Association – Player Of The Year’ is Steve Morison…

At 6:00pm on Saturday 12th April, after several weeks of voting amongst Supporters Association members, Andy Green finally put an end to all the rumours by declaring Steve Morrison as the ‘2007-2008 Stevenage Borough Supporters Association – Player of the Year’.

Steve Morison arrived at Broadhall Way early in the 2006-07 season after catching the eye of the then Boro manager in his free scoring spell at Hertfordshire rivals, Bishop Stortford. In his very first season at Broadhall Way he netted 34 goals and completed the turn around in the F.A. Trophy Final, against Kidderminster at Wembley stadium, by netting the winner.

At the time of writing Steve, leads the Boro goal tally so far this season and, stands as the third highest goal scorer in the Blue Square Premier with 22 goals to his name – which is no wonder why he emerged as the clear winner receiving 72% of the votes.

Morison has become only the thirteenth player to receive the ‘Player of the Year’ award since it’s formation during the 1994-95 season when Mark Smith emerged as your winner.

In second place was the ‘2005-2006 Player of the Year’ Alan Julian who picked up 18% of this years votes.  Without a doubt Alan will be remembered for his recent penalty spot keeping brilliance during this season’s campaign.

Finally last year’s skipper, Ronnie Henry, who famously led Stevenage up the steps of Wembley to lift the F.A. Trophy, came third achieving 5% of the vote.

Following the formal proceedings the Broadhall Suite was turned into the perfect venue to celebrate another season almost over, but with three games remaining the race for a place in the play-off’s is still very much alive…